B-cell Lymphoma Symptoms

B-cell Lymphoma Symptoms

B-cell lymphoma is a type of non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL) that makes up about 75% of the cases. The different types of B-cell lymphomas are diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL), follicular lymphoma, chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL)/ small lymphocytic lymphoma (SLL), mantle cell lymphoma (MCL), marginal zone lymphomas (MZL), Burkitt lymphoma and more. B-cell lymphoma symptoms can vary, but the common symptoms are abdominal pain or swelling, painless, swollen lymph nodes, chest pain, coughing or trouble breathing, persistent fatigue, fever, night sweats, and unexplained weight loss.

Since these B-cell lymphoma symptoms can indicate a few different diseases and conditions, tests are needed to confirm a B-cell lymphoma diagnosis. Severity of symptoms can indicate how advanced the cancer is. Tests used to diagnose B-cell lymphoma include a biopsy and bone marrow examination. After diagnosis, B-cell lymphoma is treated depending on type, but often with rituximab and cyclophosphamide, hydroxydaunorubicin, vincristine, prednisone, and bleomycin, or radiation therapy. Clinical trials can treat B-cell lymphoma and help develop new future lymphoma treatments.

Aggressive lymphoma grows and spreads quickly and has indicators and symptoms that can be extreme. The treatments for indolent and aggressive lymphoma are different. Depending on the subtype, most of these lymphomas are common, still very treatable, and sometimes curable. With Hodgkin lymphoma, 86.6% of people that receive therapy will survive for at least 5 years.

Stage 1 B-cell Lymphoma

In Stage 1 of B-cell Lymphoma, there is lymphoma in a single lymph node, a group of lymph nodes or a singular lymphatic organ, and in an extranodal site. Stage 1 is considered a limited stage, which means it is an early stage.

Stage 2 B-cell Lymphoma

In Stage 2 of B-cell Lymphoma, lymphoma is in two or more groups of lymph nodes and in an extranodal site. Stage 2 B-cell lymphoma is considered an early, limited stage.

Stage 3 B-cell Lymphoma

In Stage 3 of B-cell Lymphoma, the lymphoma is considered to be in advanced stage and has spread to both sides of the diaphragm.

Stage 4 B-cell Lymphoma

In Stage 4 B-cell lymphoma, your lymphoma is in an extranodal site and is affecting your lymph nodes. Additionally, B-cell lymphoma is Stage 4 when it is in more than one extranodal site, such as the lungs, bone, and liver. Stage 4 is the most advanced stage of B-cell lymphoma.


Mayo Clinic

American Cancer Society

Cancer Research UK

Cancer Clinical Trial Specialist B-cell Lymphoma Life Blog 0 Comments


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *